Berrys 30 30 bullets

4x4Brit

Worktruck Driver
Good timing. I just shot my first small batch of these today. They were the RNFP type. Early days but I like them so far. I’m using them for a plinking load with trail boss.

MAC702

LEGEN...wait for it... DARY!
Commercial Sponsor
Forum Supporter
Well, I loaded a bunch of them several years ago. Out of two Winchester 94s, a 1959 20" and a 1977 Trapper Commemorative, I got better groups out of my open-choked shotgun. And these are guns that shoot just fine with jacketed bullets. I do not remember what my powder was. I'm a Berry's fan for pistol stuff.

Jessy

Thanks for the input I was just wondering if you had any problem with bullet setback or if you single load for lever gun ?

4x4Brit

Worktruck Driver
I use a Lee Factory Crimp die. I’m just getting started with loading 30-30 but no issues thus far. I can measure the amount of crimp when I load some more. I know I started at .379 once the bullet was seated but never wrote down what I crimped to.

MAC702

Commercial Sponsor
Forum Supporter
Thanks for the input I was just wondering if you had any problem with bullet setback or if you single load for lever gun ?
No setback issues but I also didn't do a "fire five and look at number six" test, either.

I've single-loaded spitzers before, but not these.

4x4Brit

Worktruck Driver
No setback issues but I also didn't do a "fire five and look at number six" test, either.
I’ll give this a try with my next batch. Have to say, with Trailboss, it’s a fun round to shoot. I clocked them at 1150fps. Makes for a cheap load.

TexasJackKin

Breathng Free, at last
Forum Supporter
2019 Supporter
I don't have any experience with plated bullets in a rifle, but have loaded and shot 10s of thousands in pistols with great results. Mostly Xtream heavy plate..... I know that's not what you asked, but my computer's been on the blink, and I just wanted to participate :rolleyes:

Jessy