• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Carry a handgun while hunting?

Dr. Marneaus

Station Wagon Collector
Currious about carrying a hand gun for defense while hunting. I'm pretty new to this but want to confirm:

From my understanding for muzzle loader and or archery tags, one may carry a handgun as long as the barrel is under 8", and it doesn't have a scope, in otherwords, something that clearly isn't a hunting specific hand gun.

For firearms hunting, any handgun that is centerfire, .22 cal or larger, with a 4" or longer barrel is legal to hunt with So here's my question:

Assuming you are hunting with a rifle, is it still lawful to carry a handgun that doesn't meet those standards? Does it count as carrying it for defensive purposes, or would they assume any handgun you had on your person was intended for hunting? Since I'd be toting around a rifle, I likely wouldn't be carrying a hand gun, but I'm just curious if there would be any issue to have say, a snub nose revolver or compact glock on your hip while on an "any legal weapon" hunt.

Dusty

Obsessed Member
Forum Supporter
2019 Supporter
2020 Supporter
I’m sorry that I don’t have the regs in front of me. You can carry a side arm you can even shoot big game with a pistol. I’ll look it up when I get home.

doz

Obsessed Member
Forum Supporter
2020 Supporter
Currious about carrying a hand gun for defense while hunting. I'm pretty new to this but want to confirm:

From my understanding for muzzle loader and or archery tags, one may carry a handgun as long as the barrel is under 8", and it doesn't have a scope, in otherwords, something that clearly isn't a hunting specific hand gun.

For firearms hunting, any handgun that is centerfire, .22 cal or larger, with a 4" or longer barrel is legal to hunt with So here's my question: