Holster Advice/Recommendations Please: Sig Sauer P229 Legion

Bonez

Las Vegas - Centennial Hills
***Warning: long post ahead!!*** I was torn about whether to put this in the Sig thread or the Accessories & Gear, I figured this is more fitting so here we go.

Yesterday I came across a deal I couldn't pass up for a new Sig Sauer P229 Legion in the .40 flavor and I am trying to figure out how to best carry it comfortably without damaging the finish with excessive holster wear (I know some will be inevitable). When I tucked it inside my belted jeans just to get an idea of how it would feel to CC I found that with my style of dress its too tall to conceal without printing so it looks like open carry OWB is the way to go for me on this one.
I have zero experience with OWB holsters and I am hoping to glean from the collective knowledge of more experienced OWB holster wearers on NVS so I don't waste $$$ on something that sounds better than it actually is.

I want a brown leather holster with a thumb break just for an added measure of retention. I really like the idea of being able to easily remove the holster without removing my belt (like Timothy Olyphant in Justified) and think it would easier to shift it around, etc, so a paddle holster really appealed to me but some of the reviews make the paddle holster sound like they aren't all they are cracked up to be.
I saw the snap on belt loop options too and that looks like an decent idea, but after looking across the web for a few hours it's getting overwhelming to figure out what direction is the way to go since neither of the aforementioned are as common as the belt threaded type.. and I am even starting to question my preference for a holster that doesn't require removal / threading of the belt.

Long story short; I would REALLY appreciate your recommendations for OWB style (paddle, snap, threaded) and/or manufacturer/model.

Last edited:

Bonez

Last edited:

Ramone

Obsessed Member