Shepherds Hook?

Jethro

Forum Supporter
I'm fairly new to the AK platform and I've been told that i should replace the Shepherds Hook with a trigger retainer plate, do you guys do this?
I realize anything can fail, Murphys Law and all, but have you ever seen this failure? I'll probably just get the Krebs and consider it insurance.

I've never seen a quality shepherds hook fail. None of my chinese rifles have ever had a failure.
To be fair, the Chinese retainer clip works differently than the one that the majority of other AKs use -- it is shaped and routed differently.

I don't replace it in any of my Chinese rifles, but the Arsenals and Saigas get the retainer plates.

Has any citizen ever been the target of a violation of this?
No, because nobody understands what this “law” is. It has NOTHING to do with “US parts”. It’s a prohibition against making a so called non-sporting rifle with IMPORTED parts. It prohibits an act, not a gun.

MAC702

LEGEN...wait for it... DARY!
Forum Supporter
LOL. The only thing I ever see it used for is marketing for selling US-made parts.

Yes, I understand the letter of the law, but I think this is one that is overrated because it's pushed by the people that make the parts.

That said, I know nothing about AKs except shooting my 1968 Sile, NY, original Norinco. I don't play with its parts. :D

Here's the ATF's take on it.
Clear and concise, thanks for sharing.
Other than the stupid “burden of proof” portion, this clearly states that there is no such thing as a “non-compliant non-sporting” rifle or shotgun. It’s the ACT of assembling such a weapon that is illegal.

MAC702

LEGEN...wait for it... DARY!
Forum Supporter
Wow. He basically says: build what you want, there's not much we could do about it, even if we wanted to.

Wow. He basically says: build what you want, there's not much we could do about it, even if we wanted to.