• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Super Capacitor Jump Starter

GlenBaker

Well-known member (45 ACP)
Does anyone have experience with a
Super Capacitor Jump Starting units?
Such as the autowit supercap 2 unit
https://www.autowit.com/products/autowit-supercap-2-jump-starter
I have had good luck with my small Diehard lithium ion jump starting battery as long as I remember to keep it charged. I was thinking of buying another ion unit when I saw these super capacitor jumpers and did know how good they were.

Last edited:

NYECOGunsmith

WILL BAN FOR AAA Batteries
Staff member
Administrator
Lead Bouncer
Forum Supporter
2019 Supporter
2020 Supporter
2021 Supporter
2022 Supporter
2023 Supporter
2024 Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
I'm kinda doubting it, unless things have changed since I got a degree in electronics decades ago.
First off a capacitor can only charge up to the voltage presented to it by the battery or the power supply supplying DC voltage to it.

Second, it takes a pretty fair sized capacitor to store up a really useable amount of current.
A capacitor's storage potential, which is called it's capacitance, is measured in units called farads.

And a 1-farad capacitor can store one coulomb of charge at 1 volt DC, since capacitors block (store) DC and pass AC. . A coulomb is 6.25e18 (6.25 * 10^18, or 6.25 billion billion) electrons.
And one amp is defined as a rate of electron flow of 1 coulomb of electrons per second, so a 1-farad capacitor can hold 1 amp-second of electrons at 1 volt DC. .

Lastly a 1 full Farad capacitor is generally pretty big. Somewhere between the size of a can of soda and a 2 liter bottle of soda, depending on the type of capacitor (Mylar, Tantalum, Paper, Electrolytic, Glass, Air, Paper, etc. ) and depending on the voltage it can handle. That's why most capacitors are measured in microfarads (millionths of a farad), or Pico Farads (billionths of a Farad) .