• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

What zone to deer hunt in?

Nevada drawing for Big Game
I'am new to Nevada and wondered what zone I should apply for? Everyone I talked to said apply for Ely. Is that zone 121?

CAB

Rowdy16

They have a map in the big game book available at license agents, such as Chinamart. I also heard there a a few big bucks near Caliente.

iweb

Ham Radio Operator
Forum Supporter
2021 Supporter
I drew a deer tag in Ely 3 years ago and got a small buck, drew an elk tag in this area above Pahrump 2 years ago and got a bull. While elk hunting I saw at least 6 bucks so I know where they are and how to hunt them here. With the price of fuel I am going to put in for rifle and muzzle loader here first and second and Ely early season for third choice.

nevnut

I'm a life long resident (47 years) and hunted deer all my life until about 10 years ago. I bagged every year so i stopped so I wouldn't effect the deer population and younger, rookie hunters may have a chance. :wink5:

Love them chukar birds tho :2guns:

VegasAR15

a cleansing of the wicked
Forum Supporter
I have been wondering the same thing. This is the first year that I am putting in and have no idea where I should put in for. The closer to Vegas the better, since I would be able to make it out there for longer and more often.

Xodius

Blaster of Birdies!
This is only my second year for big game but a good place is 111-116...they are generally not the largest but there are a lot of tags and game there. If you are going for size I believe it was 10-18 maybe but then there are very few tags, around 10-20. Hope that helps. You can also go to huntnevada.com and check out last years results to help narrow it down a bit.

gonzotactical