• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Glock 44 and ammo types

garand_guy

Obsessed Member
Forum Supporter
2019 Supporter
2020 Supporter
I've been shooting my Glock 44 because of obvious reasons. I've noticed that with 1200ish FPS loads I need to adopt a 6 o'clock hold, but with 1400ish FPS loads, I hit point of aim. Target has been usually 8".

I'm rather new to shooting rimfire out of pistols regularly, but what's the deal? Is there really that much variation in the loads?

Disclaimer: I am going to try it with all the different brands I have and track the results instead of just anecdotal stuff.

MAC702

LEGEN...wait for it... DARY!
Forum Supporter
2020 Supporter
2021 Supporter
Commercial Sponsor
Especially with lightweight handguns, it's not just the bullet velocity that affects trajectory, but the recoil impulse will affect the launch angle.

JTW_Jr

WheelGunner
Are you comparing the 36 gr vs 40 gr bullets ? I havent found our 44 to change point of impact much with the different ammo.
Our first one hated 36gr ammo period. The 2nd one ( glock replaced our first one ) has been damn near flawless.

garand_guy

Obsessed Member
Forum Supporter
2019 Supporter
2020 Supporter
Are you comparing the 36 gr vs 40 gr bullets ? I havent found our 44 to change point of impact much with the different ammo.
Our first one hated 36gr ammo period. The 2nd one ( glock replaced our first one ) has been damn near flawless.
That's part of the new test. But then again I'm not in a position where I can really choose what I want to shoot unless I get a great deal on a case of some stuff the pistol likes.

JTW_Jr

WheelGunner
Our first one went 4K rounds before it blew the extractor and split the slide. Bought it Jan 2020, blew up in May 2020. Glock had a replacement delivered to my door step a week after contacting them. This one is at about 6-7k rounds thru it.