• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

How I got my Ham Technician license (in about a week)

titanNV

NRA Endowment Member
Staff member
Administrator
Forum Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
This is was my experience getting an Amateur Radio License. This is not necessarily a recommendation.

A little about my background. Nearly 25-30 years ago, I was a two way radio installer. That was probably the biggest advantage I had versus many others in the general public. However, I feel that was really a minor advantage overall, as there just wasn't a ton of overlap between day to day application of installing radios, and ham course material.

Around the 3rd of this month, I asked read a post where @NYECOGunsmith was offering members the question and answer material for the Technician test. So, after years of me procrastinating, I asked him for it. I printed it off a day later and read the first page or two. I figured I would dedicate 30-60 minutes per day to study. What I found after a couple of days was, whenever I had down time, I didn't have it with me. So around the middle of last week, the 9th according to my email, I started taking tests on EHam, then QRZ. For me, it was more convenient because I could access from my phone from anywhere. For example, instead of spending time browsing my favorite websites when waiting to pick up kid from school, I would take practice tests.

Was getting in the 70%-80% range when I started, probably some in the 60s even. Here's the great thing about QRZ's tests. When you miss a question, it tells you what course(s) you need to study. So then I would take those practice tests, so I wouldn't miss thise questions again.
Screenshot_20211211-085446_Chrome.jpg