• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

Who's running GMRS?

titanNV

NRA Endowment Member
Staff member
Administrator
Forum Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
Show off your setups!

Also, are some channels more active than others?

Finally, is there an "Emergency" channel on GMRS, as Channel 9 is the CB?

tremors834

Member (9mm)
Forum Supporter
2022 Supporter
2023 Supporter
2024 Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
In addition to amateur radio I do have a a GMRS set up at home and in the vehicle. I'm relatively new to Las Vegas. I was surprised to find how active GMRS is in the Las Vegas valley. Back east where I'm from, GMRS isn't nearly as active.
I have found channels 18, 22 & 19 to be the most active (in that order) here in LV.
I don't know of any GMRS channel to be designated as am emergency or calling channel.

Dr. Marneaus

Leave me alone.
Forum Supporter
2021 Supporter
2022 Supporter
2023 Supporter
2024 Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
I have a handful of Baofengs and added those long flexy antennas that are just a section of measuring tape on the inside.

When I was on high ground, I was able to communicate with my wife back at camp, 2.75 miles away as the crow flies.

Our camp was in the trees back by the tip of the antenna in the first pic.
B49C6C0C-43AD-4F1F-9AF6-035A9585CF94.jpeg 6B134BC0-DB32-4DBF-B735-CF5AEE34ECC3.jpeg

titanNV

NRA Endowment Member
Staff member
Administrator
Forum Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
I have a handful of Baofengs and added those long flexy antennas that are just a section of measuring tape on the inside.

When I was on high ground, I was able to communicate with my wife back at camp, 2.75 miles away as the crow flies.

Our camp was in the trees back by the tip of the antenna in the first pic.
View attachment 114804 View attachment 114805

Interested in more info on that antenna! Where did you get it? Want to try a couple out!

Dr. Marneaus