• This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more.

I guess I'm "All In" with GMRS

Gunhand

Well-known member (45 ACP)
Forum Supporter
2023 Supporter
2024 Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
It started with the 45 watt Rugged Radio install in my Polaris General. Then I went with a Midland MXT575 for my truck. And now I went with the Midland MXPW500 Ammo Can Base Station with a Midland MXT500 for the ranch.

And of course I'm studying for my HAM radio license. The Struggle is Real I tell you!!!

MJW89519

American, 100% American.
Forum Supporter
2021 Supporter
2022 Supporter
2023 Supporter
2024 Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
Just starting. Got my FCC license and a small Baofeng. Any suggestions?
I recently renewed my license first gotten back in 1977, just picked up a BTech UV-50x2, second generation. I also have several Baofeng UV-82HP. I’ve skipped the 45 years of amateur radio most people my age have, just discovering it all. My first radio had tubes, and I was using Morse code. My challenge today is figuring out how to use this, in my case as back up communications when out offloading, etc. I got my GMRS license, my amateur General license and will take the Extra license test next month.

Cirdan

Well-known member (45 ACP)
Suggestions for what exactly?
Any open use, like CBs used to be, or strictly for internal comms with family and/or coworkers?

Planning on doing the AlCan next summer and heard the truckers use this instead of CB. Probably due to range.

titanNV

NRA Endowment Member
Staff member
Administrator
Forum Supporter
Trading Post Subscriber
GMRS channels are open to everyone with a GMRS license. Some even overlap with FRS.